Moscow Exchange IPO Guide

IPO
LAUNCH

«The marketing process culminates in book building − creating an order book – which ultimately sets the IPO price based on investor demand, on one hand, and the expectations of the issuer (and/or of a selling shareholder), on the other»

PART 2. BOOK BUILDING AND PRICE PERFORMANCE

Chapter 1. Institutional Bookbuilding

Building up a “book” of investor’s orders (bookbuilding) is carried out by the banks organising the IPO process (bookrunners) and usually goes in parallel with management roadshow, i.e. a duration of approximately two weeks. There is also an alternative approach, when bookbuilding starts several days after commencement of the roadshow in order to take into account investor feedback received in the first days of the roadshow before setting a price range. Based on the price range published in a press-release at the roadshow launch, investors are invited to place orders for participation in the IPO.

Orders from institutional investors during bookbuilding, can be of two types: (i) reflecting the desired number of shares, or (ii) the amount of cash to be spent for the shares. Investor can specify an acceptable price level, or otherwise an order is considered unlimited (meaning any price within the announced price range would be satisfactory for the investor). An order can also indicate an intention to purchase various amount of shares at various price levels (within the price range), or various types of stock, i.e. shares or depositary receipts (DRs).

Investors can change the parameters of their orders during the bookbuilding period until the book is closed. In fact, investors can recall their orders at any time and are expected to purchase the stock in accordance with their order only after confirmation of the received allocation on the day of IPO price announcement. In the event of a successful placement, demand from quality investors in the order book is not less and often higher than the planned offer size. Accordingly, allocations to individual investors will then be lower than the submitted orders.

Investors Order Factor Limit (RUB) Demand at various prices (RUB)
100 110 120 130
Investor 1 500,000 RUB 110 500,000 500,000 0 0
Investor 2 1,100,000 RUB 130 1,100,000 1,100,000 1,100,000 1,100,000
Investor 3 30,000 Share 120 3,000,000 3,300,000 3,600,000 0
Investor 4 20,000 or 10,000 Share 110, 120 2,000,000 2,200,000 1,200,000 0
Investor 5 900,000 RUB Unlimited 900,000 900,000 900,000 900,000
Investor 6 30,000 Share Unlimited 3,000,000 3,300,000 3,600,000 3,900,000

During bookbuilding the bookrunners ccumulate investor demand for the issuer’s stock and analyse the composition of the order book. This process is illustrated on Chart 1. The orders tend to be submitted into the book during bookbuilding unevenly: investors often prefer to use the first week of the process to conduct their own internal analysis and valuation of the issuer and do not rush to place orders. The highest level of investor activity often occurs within the last several days, and, especially, the final hours of bookbuilding. During the process bookrunners regularly inform the issuer and/or selling shareholder(s) on the level of the book coverage.

As soon as the book is fully covered, bookrunners relay the message to the market. A message can also be relayed to the market when the bookbuilding period is nearing completion in order to let investors know that the book is close to being covered as a teaser to motivate them to submit orders.

In some cases the price range can be tightened during bookbuilding to provide the market with more distinct price guidance and to stimulate wait-and-see investors to submit orders. A decision about price-range adjustment can be made by bookrunners with the consent of the issuer after analysis of the book and the demand levels at various prices within the initial price range.

Upon completion of the roadshow and bookbuilding , bookrunners give their recommendation on what the final offer price should be, based on the book of collected orders and prevailing market conditions. The aim is to create a backdrop for a positive aftermarket performance of the stock by balancing the interests of the stock seller and investors.

Positive share-price performance in the aftermarket is facilitated by both a reasonable offer price and not fully meeting investor demand. The latter happens in the event of significant oversubscription. However, it is also important not to cross the minimum acceptable level of stock allocations for individual investors, as this can otherwise have a reverse effect, with investors selling their allocated stocks in case the acquired share blocks are smaller than what they generally manage.

An important factor to consider when setting an offer price and allocations is the mix of investors to receive shares of the Company at the IPO – this will have a direct impact on share price performance and trading liquidity in the aftermarket.

Allocations are carried out by bookrunners, which then provide their respective recommendation to the issuer. Key allocations criteria include: 1) high quality of investor; 2) diversity of investor base; and 3) significant participation of investors who plan to hold the shares long term.

The allocation strategy should factor in both qualitative and quantitative criteria:

  • The quality of investors, reflected in their level of sophistication and length of investment horizon coupled with size of assets under management;
  • The level of interest in the offering is recognised by: 1) active participation in the meetings during marketing (e.g. during investor education and roadshow), 2) the amount of work done to understand and evaluate the investment case, 3) investments in comparable companies, 4) the order size in comparison to the average position in a stock typical for this investor, 5) expected or expressed strategy towards future holding / buying the stock being placed, and 6) typical investor behaviour after similar placements.

To facilitate analysis of the order book and allocations from a technical standpoint, bookrunners categorise investors depending on the evaluated characteristics.

Investor categories
Tier 1
  • Demonstrated high interest in the offering during investor education and roadshow;
  • Carried out deep analysis of the company;
  • Expressed their view on the company’s valuation;
  • Submitted an early order during the bookbuilding process;
  • Significant assets under management;
  • Recommended by issuer or selling shareholder;
  • Submitted a large order into the book.
Tier 2
  • Carried out deep analysis of the company during investor education and roadshow;
  • Expressed their view on the company’s valuation;
  • Generally, smaller assets under management or order size.
Tier 3
  • Inhomogeneous quality of investors by such characteristics as assets under management, depth of analysis, quality and number of feedback about the company, timing of order submission.
Tier 4
  • Made limited efforts to analyse the investment case;
  • Usually maintain active trading of the stock after placement.
Top-30 institutional investors in shares/DRs of Russian Companies1
1 Aberdeen Asset Managers Ltd.
2 Alfred Berg Kapitalforvaltning AB
3 APG Asset Management NV
4 Baring Asset Management Ltd.
5 BlackRock Advisors (UK) Ltd.
6 BlackRock Fund Advisors
7 BlackRock Investment Management (UK) Ltd.
8 Capital Research & Management Co. (Global Investors)
9 Capital Research & Management Co. (World Investors)
10 Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management Investment GmbH
11 Dimensional Fund Advisors LP
12 East Capital AB
13 Gazprombank OJSC (Investment Management)
14 Genesis Investment Management LLP
15 Grantham, Mayo, Van Otterloo & Co. LLC
16 HSBC Global Asset Management (UK) Ltd.
17 JPMorgan Asset Management (UK) Ltd.
18 Lazard Asset Management LLC
19 Leader CJSC
20 Mellon Capital Management Corp.
21 Norges Bank Investment Management
22 OppenheimerFunds, Inc.
23 Otkritie Asset Management Ltd.
24 Pictet Asset Management Ltd.
25 Sberbank Asset Management CJSC
26 Schroder Investment Management Ltd.
27 Swedbank Robur Fonder AB
28 T. Rowe Price International Ltd.
29 The Vanguard Group, Inc.
30 Van Eck Associates Corp.

Source: LionShares, as of as of May 2015

The table on the left shows the largest institutional investors in shares/DRs of Russian companies, according to publicly available information. Information about IPO participants is confidential. However, this list provides an idea of investors in Russian equities, though it should be noted that these investors could buy stocks both at an IPO and in the aftermarket.

The geographic breakdown of investors can vary significantly subject to industry and business type, but the split often looks like that on Chart 2.

Chapter 2. Retail Bookbuilding

Apart from the option to receive orders directly from institutional investors through sales teams of bookrunners there is also a possibility to collect investor orders via the infrastructure of Moscow Exchange. This instrument is called the “retail tranche”, and was first realised in an IPO transaction by Moscow Exchange at its own public offering in February 2013. The instrument has a number of unique features compared to an offering of shares to institutional investors.

  • Investor base specifics. Any potential investor can participate in a retail offering provided they have a brokerage account with a licensed broker. In practice, this can be individuals or corporates, or small institutional investors (larger institutional investors usually participate in placements via an OTC offering).
  • Settlement and start of trading specifics. Shares purchased in the offering become available to investors simultaneously with the start of trading on the stock exchange on the day of the offer price announcement (while settlement of shares within an OTC tranche may take up to 10 days). On the other hand, all orders submitted via a stock exchange must be pre-funded by investors (the funds are blocked on investors trading accounts for settlement on the morning following the book close). Finally, settlement for the retail tranche has to be made in Russian roubles.

The time frame during which investors can submit orders via Moscow Exchange is announced at the offer launch. Typically, it is the same as the institutional bookbuilding. period. Investors may submit and withdraw orders during certain hours (usually from 10 am to 7 pm Moscow time), which are specified in the announcement of the offer launch, published on the website of Moscow Exchange.

On the evening of the last day of bookbuilding, Moscow Exchange after checking the orders collected and duly prefunded provides the company and bookrunners with information on the number of orders received and the value of the respective demand. Thus, the syndicate acquires information on the total investor demand in the IPO.

The syndicate usually determines in advance what proportion of the IPO the retail tranche will constitute (depending on the issuer’s approach, but usually not more than 15%). If by the end of the last day of of bookbuilding the value of the collected retail orders is lower, they will be fully allocated, while the rest of the shares locked for the retail tranche will be additionally allocated to OTC investors. bookrunners use an allocation strategy in case actual retail demand is higher than initially contemplated (more often than not, proportional allocation approach is used). Issuers can also set a limit above which the orders would be allocated not automatically, but case by case, with a possibility of variations (e.g. RUB30 million).

Chapter 3. Aftermarket Share Price Performance and Stabilisation

Typically, the first day of trading is characterised with the formation of the initial return (which is the difference between the closing price and the IPO price), as a result of underpricing of shares at IPO.

Apart from the underpricing, the share price performance is impacted by a number of other factors.

A. Factors directly connected with an offering:

  • Sufficient level of oversubscription and allowance for price sensitivity of investors;
  • Optimal distribution of shares (i.e. allocations not taking into account sufficiently the quality of investors and/or their expectations with respect to size of the received block of shares).

B. Economic, market, regulatory and other factors:

  • Macroeconomic situation generally;
  • Share price performance of comparable companies, situation in the sector;
  • Changes of legal framework and regulation;
  • Equity markets performance in the US, Western Europe and Russia;
  • Newsflow around the issuer.

To support share price performance post IPO, in accordance with international practice, mechanism of stabilization is used. Investors consider this mechanism to be an important “safety cushion” and expect it to be an element of the offering structure. Generally, stabilization is an over-allotment option, or greenshoe, embedded into offering structure. Greenshoe provides syndicate of bookrunners bookrunners with possibility to buy additional shares (usually, up to 15% of the offer size) at IPO price within a 30-day period since start of share trading. The option allows bookrunners to allocate up to 115% of the respective offer size at IPO, which creates a significant short position for the syndicate. Syndicate borrows the over-allotted shares from the issuer or its shareholder.

In case of share price appreciation post IPO, shares are not purchased from the market, and the full IPO size is higher than base one for the size of greenshoe (i.e. for 15%). Syndicate's short position can be covered by execution of a call option (option to buy shares), received by bookrunners from the company or shareholder(s). Syndicate transfers the money received from sale of the additional shares to the issuer or selling shareholder(s).

If share price starts to show negative performance post IPO, stabilizing manager (bookrunner, responsible for stabilization on behalf of the syndicate) can purchase shares from the market at IPO price or below (depending on stabilizing strategy) during the whole period of stabilization until the greenshoe size is exhausted. The purchased shares will allow syndicate to close short position. In this case offering size will be 100% (option is not exercised, all additional shares purchased from the market) to less than 115% (partially exercised option).

Investors do not have considerable preferences with regard to source of shares for greenshoe. This can be either primary (i.e. newly issued) or secondary (existing) shares. From structuring standpoint the latter option is easier to execute. Also, additional share capital raised should preferably be part of the base, and not optional part of offer size.

Alternative less popular mechanisms of stabilization are used as well, such as e.g. brownshoe. Brownshoe is structured using put option: stabilizing manager receives an option to sell shares purchased from the market to a subsidiary company or special purpose vehicle.

In Russian practice stabilization for the offerings of ordinary shares was included in the offering structure for the first time comparatively recently – in 2012 (with no practical execution for IPO of MegaFon and with actual support of share price in the aftermarket of Moscow Exchange IPO), and it has been used since long time by international placements of Russian issuers.

  1. Source: Lionshares, as of February 2016

Руководство для эмитента 

Проведение
IPO

«Кульминационной фазой маркетинга является букбилдинг, или построение книги заявок (внебиржевое или биржевое). По окончании букбилдинга эмитент/продающий акционер совместно с инвестиционными банками предлагают цену размещения, а инвесторы начинают торговать акциями»

Раздел 2. Построение книги заявок и динамика котировок после IPO

Глава 1. Построение внебиржевой книги заявок

Построение книги заявок (букбилдинг) осуществляется банками-организаторами IPO (букраннерами) и, как правило, происходит параллельно с роудшоу менеджмента, т.е. примерно в течение двух недель. Существует и альтернативный подход, при котором букбилдинг начинается через несколько дней после начала роудшоу с целью учесть отзывы инвесторов, собранные после первых встреч с менеджментом, при установлении ценового диапазона. На основе данного ценового диапазона, который указывается в пресс-релизе, публикуемом одновременно с запуском роудшоу, инвесторы приглашаются к подаче заявок на участие в IPO.

Заявки, поступающие от инвесторов в ходе букбилдинга, могут быть двух видов: в количестве ценных бумаг или в денежном выражении. Также инвесторы могут указать уровень цены, при котором они готовы купить бумаги, в противном случае заявки являются нелимитированными (т.е. по любой цене диапазона). Кроме того, возможны заявки, включающие различное количество бумаг по различным ценам (в рамках диапазона), а также различное количество бумаг разных типов (например, акций и ДР).

До закрытия книги заявок инвестор имеет право изменять параметры своей заявки. Фактически инвестор может отказаться от участия в любой момент и считается обязанными исполнить заявку лишь после подтверждения получения аллокации в день объявления цены размещения. В случае успешного размещения спрос от качественных инвесторов, зафиксированный в книге заявок, не меньше, а часто и значительно выше запланированного объема размещения. Соотвественно, аллокации отдельных инвесторов будут меньше величины поданных ими заявок.

Примерный вид книги заявок
Инвесторы Заявка Фактор Лимит (руб) Спрос по цене (руб)
100 110 120 130
Инвестор 1 500,000 руб 110 500,000 500,000 0 0
Инвестор 2 1,100,000 руб 130 1,100,000 1,100,000 1,100,000 1,100,000
Инвестор 3 30,000 акции 120 3,000,000 3,300,000 3,600,000 0
Инвестор 4 20,000 или 10,000 акции 110, 120 2,000,000 2,200,000 1,200,000 0
Инвестор 5 900,000 руб Без лимита 900,000 900,000 900,000 900,000
Инвестор 6 30,000 акции Без лимита 3,000,000 3,300,000 3,600,000 3,900,000
...

В течение всего букбилдинга букраннеры аккумулируют спрос на акции эмитента от инвесторов и анализируют состав книги заявок. Графически этот процесс можно изобразить так, как это показано на схеме 1. Заявки, как правило, поступают в ходе букбилдинга неравномерно – часто инвесторы предпочитают использовать первую неделю для выполнения внутренней работы по анализу и оценке эмитента и не торопятся размещать заявки. Пик активности с точки зрения прироста размера книги обычно приходится на последние несколько дней и особенно часов букбилдинга. По ходу процесса букраннеры регулярно информируют эмитента и/или продающего акционера об уровне заполнения книги заявок.

В момент заполнения книги заявок на 100% букраннеры, как правило, дают соответствующее сообщение в рынок. Сообщение может быть дано и раньше, если период букбилдинга подходит к концу, – с целью информирования инвесторов о том, что книга заявок близка к заполнению, и побуждению к подаче заявок.

В некоторых случаях в процессе букбилдинга ценовой диапазон может быть сужен, чтобы предоставить инвесторам более четкий ценовой ориентир и побудить их перейти от выжидательной пози­ции к активной подаче заявок. Решения об изменении ценового диапазона принимаются букраннерами с одобрения эмитента после анализа состояния книги заявок и величины спроса при разных уровнях цен в диапазоне.

По окончании роудшоу и букбилдинга на основе собранной книги заявок, а также с учетом превалирующих рыночных условий на текущий момент букраннеры дают эмитенту рекомендацию в отношении цены размещения. Основная цель – сбалансировать интересы продавца и покупателя, создав базу для позитивной динамики акции эмитента после IPO.

Позитивной динамике акций эмитента после IPO способствуют как установление цены размещения на разумном уровне, так и неполное удовлетворение заявок инвесторов. Последнее происходит в случаях существенной переподписки книги заявок. Здесь, однако, важно не пересечь минимальный приемлемый уровень аллокации с точки зрения отдельных инвесторов – это может привести к получению эффекта, обратного желаемому, а именно продажам со стороны инвесторов приобретенных пакетов акций эмитента, если их размер меньше, чем те, которыми данные инвесторы обычно активно управляют.

Также важным фактором, учитываемым для принятия решения об установлении цены размещения и аллокациях, является состав инвесторов, получающих акции компании при IPO – он будет напрямую влиять на динамику и объемы торгов бумагой после размещения.

Процесс аллокаций осуществляется букраннерами, которые затем предоставляют соответствующую рекомендацию эмитенту. Основными критериями являются: (i) высокое качество инвесторов, (ii) диверсифицированность инвесторской базы, а также (iii) значительное число инвесторов-участников размещения, намеренных владеть акциями в течение продолжительного времени. Стратегия аллокации должна учитывать как качественные, так и количественные критерии:

  • Качество инвесторов, измеряемое уровнем их искушенности и инвестиционного горизонта в сочетании с объемом активов под управлением
  • Заинтересованность инвесторов, выражающаяся в (i) активном участии во встречах во время маркетинга размещения (например, пре-маркетинге и роудшоу), (ii) объеме работ, проделанных с целью понимания и оценки инвестиционного кейса, (iii) существовании инвестиций в сравнимые компании, (iv) соотношении размера заявки в книгу и среднего размера позиции в бумаге, типичного для данного инвестора, (v) вероятной, или озвученной стратегии в отношении дальнейших покупок размещаемой бумаги, (vi) действиях инвестора после других аналогичных размещений

 

Для облегчения процесса анализа книги заявок и аллокаций с технической точки зрения букраннеры распределяют инвесторов на категории, в зависимости от их оцениваемого качества:

Tier 1
  • Продемонстрировали высокий интерес к размещению во время премаркетинга и родушоу
  • Осуществили детальный анализ компании
  • Сообщили свой взгляд на оценку компании
  • Подали заявку в книгу на ранних стадиях
  • Значительный объем активов под управлением
  • Рекомендованы компанией-эмитентом или продающим акционером
  • Дали крупную заявку в книгу
Tier 2
  • Детально проанализировали компанию во время премаркетинга и родушоу
  • Сообщили свой взгляд на оценку компании
  • В целом меньший объем активов под управлением и/или размер заявки
Tier 3
  • Неоднородное качество инвесторов по таким критериям, как размер активов, глубина анализа, количество и качество отзывов о компании, время подачи заявки
Tier 4
  • Потратили небольшое количество времени на анализ ситуации
  • Как правило, поддерживают активную торговлю бумагой после размещения

В таблице ниже приведены крупнейшие институциональные инвесторы в акции/ДР российских компаний согласно публичной информации. Информация об участниках IPO является конфиденциальной. Тем не менее, данный список дает хорошее представление об инвесторах в российские акции, хотя следует заметить, что данные инвесторы приобретали ценные бумаги как в ходе IPO, так и на вторичном рынке.

Топ 30 крупнейших институциональных инвесторов в акции/ДР российских Компаний
1 Aberdeen Asset Managers Ltd.
2 Alfred Berg Asset Management AB
3 APG Asset Management NV
4 Baring Asset Management Ltd.(UK)
5 BlackRock Fund Advisors
6 BlackRock Investment Management (UK) Ltd.
7 Brandes Investment Partners
8 Capital World Investors (U.S.)
9 Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management Investment GmbH
10 Dodge & Cox
11 East Capital AB
12 FIL Investment Services (U.K.), LTD
13 Fidelity Management & Research Company
14 Genesis Investment Management LLP
15 Grantham, Mayo, Van Otterloo Co. LLC
16 HSBC Global Asset Management (U.K.), LTD
17 JPMorgan Asset Management (UK) Ltd.
18 Lazard Asset Management LLC
19 Norges Bank Investment Management
20 OppenheimerFunds, Inc.
21 Открытие Управление Активами
22 Pictet Asset Management, LTD
23 Prosperity Capital Management (RF), LTD
24 Robeco Institutional Asset Management BV
25 Schroder Investment Management Ltd.
26 Swedbank Robur Fonder AB
27 T. Rowe Price International Ltd.
28 TIAA-CREF Investment Management, LLC
29 UBS AG (Asset Management Switzerland)
30 Van Eck Associates Corp.

Источник: IPREO, июль 2017 (исключая пассивных инвесторов и специальных держателей) к таблице Топ 30 крупнейших институциональных инвесторов в акции/ДР российских Компаний.

Если говорить о географическом составе инвесторов, то он может существенно варьироваться в зависимости от отрасли и характера бизнеса эмитента, но зачастую распределение выглядит как на схеме 2.

Глава 2. Построение биржевой книги заявок

Параллельно с внебиржевым получением заявок напрямую от институциональных инвесторов через сейлз команды букраннеров существует возможность организации сбора заявок от инвесторов через инфраструктуру Московской Биржи. Данный инструмент получил название «биржевой транш» и применительно к IPO был впервые реализован Московской Биржей на собственном размещении в феврале 2013 г. Он обладает рядом особенностей по сравнению с внебиржевым предложением акций.

  • Специфика базы инвесторов. Принять участие в биржевом предложении может любой потенциальный инвестор при условии открытия брокерского счета через лицензированного брокера. На практике это могут быть как негосударственные пенсионные фонды (НПФ), так и частные инвесторы, и корпорации или мелкие институциональные инвесторы.
  • Специфика расчетов и начала торгов. Акции становятся доступными инвесторам одновременно с началом биржевых торгов бумагами в день объявления цены (процесс поставки и оплаты акций на внебиржевом размещении занимает до 10 дней). В то же время все заявки через биржу должны быть обеспечены инвесторами. Наконец, расчеты в рамках биржевого транша осуществляются в рублях.

Срок, в течение которого инвесторы имеют возможность подавать завки через биржу, объявляется в начале предложения. Как правило, он совпадает с периодом внебиржевого букбилдинга. Инвесторы могут подавать или снимать заявки в определенные часы (обычно с 10.00 до 19.00 московского времени), которые указываются в сообщении о запуске размещения, публикуемом на сайте биржи.

Вечером в последний день букбилдинга биржа передает компании и букраннерам информацию о количестве заявок и объеме собранного спроса после проверки обеспеченности полученных заявок. Таким образом синдикат получает информацию о величине общего спроса на IPO.

Синдикат заранее определяет какую долю от общего размера IPO может составлять биржевой транш (обычно, не более 15%, в зависимости от политики эмитента). Если к концу последнего дня объем поступивших заявок меньше, они удовлетворяются на 100%, а остальной объем доаллоцируется инвесторам внебиржевого размещения. На случай, если поступивший через биржевой транш спрос выше, чем его запланированный размер, букраннеры заранее продумывают принцип аллокации, который будет применен утром в день объявления цены. Как правило, действует принцип пропорциональности; также эмитент может установить уровень, выше которого заявки аллоцируются не автоматически, а вручную и с возможностью отклонения (например, более 30 млн. руб).

Глава 3. Динамика котировок после IPO и стабилизация

В результате недооценки акций на IPO для первого дня торгов характерно образование первоначальной доходности (положительной разницы между ценой закрытия в этот день и ценой IPO).

Помимо недооценки динамика котировок подвержена воздействию ряда других факторов:

A. Факторы, непосредственно связанные с размещением

  • Достаточность уровня переподписки и учета ценовой чувствительности инвесторов
  • Оптимальность распределения акций (например, аллокации могут недоучесть качество инвесторов и/или их ожидания относительно размера пакета)

B. Экономические, рыночные, регуляторные и прочие факторы

  • Общая макроэкономическая ситуация;
  • Динамика котировок сравнимых компаний, ситуация в секторе;
  • Изменения законодательной базы и регулирования;
  • Динамика фондовых рынков в США, Западной Европе и России;
  • Новостной фон по компании-эмитенту.

Для поддержки динамики котировок после размещения компании в международной практике используется механизм стабилизации. Инвесторы считают наличие данного механизма важной «подушкой безопасности» и ожидают его наличия в структуре IPO. Как правило, стабилизация представляет собой встроенный в структуру сделки опцион доразмещения (over-allotment option), или «greenshoe». Greenshoе позволяет синдикату букраннеров купить дополнительные акции (как правило, до 15% размера размещения) по цене IPO в течение до 30 дней после начала торгов бумагой. Данный опцион дает букраннерам возможность аллоцировать до 115% соответствующего объема в момент IPO, создавая существенную техническую короткую позицию для синдиката. Дополнительные аллоцируемые акции берутся синдикатом взаймы у эмитента или его акционера.

Если цена акции после IPO растет, выкуп акций с рынка не производится, и полный размер IPO будет большего базового на величину greenshoe (например, 115%). Короткая позиция синдиката может быть покрыта путем исполнения опциона колл (опциона на покупку акций), полученного букраннерами от компании или акционера(-ов). Синдикат перечисляет средства, полученные от продажи дополнительных акций, эмитенту или продающему акционеру(-ам).

В случаях, когда цена акции после IPO начинает показывать отрицательную динамику, стабилизационный менеджер (букраннер, ответственный за стабилизацию от имени синдиката) может совершать покупки акций на рынке по цене IPO или ниже (в зависимости от стабилизационной политики) в течение всего периода стабилизации до тех пор, пока величина greenshoe не будет исчерпана. Купленные акции позволят синдикату закрыть короткую позицию. В таком случае объем размещения составит от 100% (неисполнение опциона, акции в полном объеме опциона выкуплены с рынка) до менее 115% (частичное исполнение опциона).

Инвесторы не имеют существенных предпочтений в отношении источника акций для greenshoe. Это могут быть как первичные (т.е. дополнительно выпущенные), так и вторичные (существующие) акции. С точки зрения структурирования последний вариант более прост в исполнении. Кроме того, предпочтительно, чтобы необходимый эмитенту объем дополнительного капитала был учтен в рамках базовой части размещения, а не опциональной.

Существуют и альтернативные greenshoe, менее распространенные механизмы стабилизации – например, brownshoe. Brownshoe структу­рирован вокруг пут-опциона: стабилизационному менеджеру предоставляется опцион на продажу бумаг, выкупленных с рынка, на дочернюю компанию или компанию специального назначения.

В российской практике стабилизация также является общепринятой для рыночных размещений и используется эмитентами при размещениях как на зарубежных площадках, так и на Московской Бирже.